My Very Exciting (to me) Book Deal News

I don’t usually use my blog to announce things – mainly because I don’t usually have anything to announce – but here I am, adjusting my tie, polishing my megaphone: I!Have!News!

Here in my blog-world, I go on and on about how I’m writing, and I am. Every now and then, all this writing actually turns into a book. JULIA VANISHES is set to be published in the Spring of 2016, which may sound like a long way off to you, but between now and then I will be working with Nancy Siscoe of Knopf in the US and Amy Black of Doubleday in Canada, and I am… *practicing understatement since it’s not like you can see the little jig I’ve been jigging for days now* …Very Excited. JULIA VANISHES is the first book in a fantasy trilogy (I know, I’m such a one-trick pony) about a spy-for-hire who takes on a job posing as a maid in a wealthy, eccentric household, and finds herself on the wrong side of a power struggle between ancient forces.

The Publisher’s Weekly announcement is here, if you are interested in that sort of thing.

As a side note, this all came about while I was deep in Annie Cardi’s first novel, “The Chance You Won’t Return,” about a girl whose mother has a mental breakdown and believes she is Amelia Earhart. I will admit that, as the good news sank in, I had more than a few moments of fearing I might be delusional and making the whole thing up. If that turns out to be the case, I apologize, but I am just going to keep living in this fantasy world where the likes of Nancy Siscoe and Amy Black like my book and want to work with me, so don’t bother trying to bring me back to reality. I like it here, thankyouverymuch.

*puts away megaphone*

*loosens tie*

*jigs another jig, very quietly*

11 thoughts on “My Very Exciting (to me) Book Deal News

  1. samatwitch

    That is VERY exciting news, Catherine!! Congratulations! And they are holding an auction for your world rights. Thank goodness we still have one more book in your first trilogy to look forward to so it won’t seem quite as long to wait for Julia to appear!! 🙂 I’m so proud to know you.

    Reply
  2. Catherine Egan Post author

    Thank you! The auction was held, and World English rights went to Knopf / Doubleday. Foreign sales will be separate. I’m still figuring out all this stuff myself… or, mostly just half-understanding and grateful to have an amazing agent because I don’t *really* understand it all!

    Reply
  3. Samantha

    Amazing!!! I have read this, which makes it as though I have an awesome secret almost no one knows! Well deserved!

    Reply
  4. Catherine Egan Post author

    It’s quite different from when you read it, Samantha, and will no doubt go through more changes still, though the bare bones of the plot are the same. I still giggle remembering your comments on what was then the last page: “It’s-kind-of-blah-blah-sentiment-sentiment-I-have-to-finish-this-somehow.” I think I’ve managed to improve on that somewhat ;).

    Reply
    1. Catherine Egan Post author

      Hey, I only just figured out how comments on my blog work, ha (as in there’s a whole page where I can see them all, and I missed some)! Months late but: thank you 🙂

      Reply
  5. Pingback: New fantasy thriller JULIA VANISHES to hit shelves 2016

    1. Catherine Egan Post author

      Is it weird to say thank you several months late? I missed a bunch of comments here, but am finding them now on a page that shows all comments. Thank you 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

